We Are Not All Charlie Hebdo

charliehebdo

Inevitably the massacre at the French satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo has spawned a hashtag, #JeSuisCharlie and the English #IAmCharlie are trending worldwide.

At the risk of being an internet scold, these cheap “look at me” tweets are insulting.

I wouldn’t flatter myself by pretending I have the courage of the men and women who put out that magazine. They risked everything and ultimately many of the paid with their lives to keep the barbarians outside the gates. Let us not kid ourselves…they were better than us. We should remember them that way. We are not Charlie, those who worked and died there were. It set them apart from us. We should recognize that and celebrate them for it.

What is left to us is to continue their work, honor them and punish those who would sellout to their killers.

About Drew

I blog about politics and hockey because I sort of understand those things. I'd blog about women but I'll never understand them.

Posted on January 7, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

