Stanley Cup Playoff Predictions–Eastern Conference Edition

Pittsburgh Penguins vs. New York Islanders

I like the Islanders to do better than I think most people do. Not that well mind you.

The Islanders have very good forwards, meh defense and very good goaltending. Unfortunately for the Islanders, even a Crosby-less Penguins squad is better in two of three areas. I give the Isles the edge in goal but not by that much.

Penguins in six.

 

Montreal Canadiens vs. Ottawa Senators

I don’t buy the Canadiens at all. Still too small up front, solid first pair D and suddenly very, very questionable goaltending.

Ottawa is a nasty, banging, grinding team that I think will wear the Habs down early and often.

Considering the Canadiens missed the playoffs last year, this is a great season for them but it ends in round one.

Senators in five.

 

Boston Bruins vs. Toronto Maple Leafs

Yeesh.

The Bruins should win this easily but they’ve been exceptionally meh for about three weeks. If they can get back to form they take this in 5. If they can’t it goes 7. Either way, the Bruins win.

Bruins in seven

 

Washington Capitals vs. New York Rangers

I put this out of order since the Rangers are my team.

As much as it pains me to say it, I’m picking the Rangers.

The Caps came on strong but come on, it was the Southeast.

The Rangers are just hitting their stride after a slow start due to a lack of training camp. I really wanted the Rangers to get the Bruins but the Rangers and Caps seem to be destined to meet every year in the playoffs. Might as well get it out of the way early.

Rangers in six

About Drew

I blog about politics and hockey because I sort of understand those things. I'd blog about women but I'll never understand them.

Posted on May 1, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

