Sorry Social Conservatives: America Isn’t Going To Elect Someone President Who Wants To Talk About How Sex Out Of Wedlock And Contraceptions Are Bad

I don’t care if it’s in the Bible, I don’t care if you can point to all sorts of studies showing how it leads to bad economic outcomes or even health problems. People will not vote for Rick Santorum once they see things like this:

(Warning DKos link)

One of the things I will talk about that no president has talked about before is I think the dangers of contraception in this country, the whole sexual libertine idea … Many in the Christian faith have said, “Well, that’s okay … contraception’s okay.”

It’s not okay because it’s a license to do things in the sexual realm that is counter to how things are supposed to be. They’re supposed to be within marriage, for purposes that are, yes, conjugal … but also procreative. That’s the perfect way that a sexual union should happen. We take any part of that out, we diminish the act. And if you can take one part out that’s not for purposes of procreation, that’s not one of the reasons, then you diminish this very special bond between men and women, so why can’t you take other parts of that out? And all of a sudden, it becomes deconstructed to the point where it’s simply pleasure. And that’s certainly a part of it—and it’s an important part of it, don’t get me wrong—but there’s a lot of things we do for pleasure, and this is special, and it needs to be seen as special.

Again, I know most presidents don’t talk about those things, and maybe people don’t want us to talk about those things, but I think it’s important that you are who you are. I’m not running for preacher. I’m not running for pastor, but these are important public policy issues.

This will lead to Obama winning states that he wouldn’t even dream of trying to win right now.

Sorry, it’s just the truth.

Link via BaseballCrank

About Drew

I blog about politics and hockey because I sort of understand those things. I'd blog about women but I'll never understand them.

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. And if there is one thing the left is good at, it’s redirection. We could have 20% unemployment rate, be at war with Australia, and find ourselves having a debate about sex out of wedlock.

  2. Especially if our candidate proactively makes it a key campaign issue–why WOULDN’T the left emphasize it, if we hand it to them on a plate?

    Can I get a show of hands of what proportion of the American electorate wants Rick Santorum, or anyone else, to have a say in their personal contraceptive choices?

  3. Then the people supposedly so concerned about ecomonic liberty who stay home or vote for Obama are to blame, not the SoCons.

    If he’s so weak, beat him NOW with your strong candidate.

  4. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any solutions to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d genuinely
    appreciate it.

  5. This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that
    helped me. Thanks a lot!

  1. Pingback: Just when I start to like Rick Santorum……….. « The Daley Gator

  2. Pingback: No, Santorum is Not Coming for Your Birth Control « Innocent Bystanders

  3. Pingback: Liberty's Leviathan » Blog Archive » Government-regulated behavioral norms for society: No contrast between Obama & Santorum

  4. Pingback: Rick Santorum: Let’s Talk About Sex

Leave a Reply

