Does Mitt Romney Have Any Conservative Accomplishments? A Romney Supporter Makes His Case

Ace was kind enough to link my last post and that led to a “conversation” in the comments about whether or not Romney actually has done anything to advance conservatism.

As I said in my last post, I couldn’t think of one. A couple of Romney supporting commenters suggested that Romney balanced the state’s budget. Personally I don’t find that persuasive.

First, it’s a constitutional requirement, so I don’t see following the law as a conservative accomplishment. Andrew Cuomo balanced NY’s budget, I wouldn’t call him a conservative.

Second, Romney claims he didn’t raise taxes to balance the budget. Well, that’s open to debate but he sure as heck raised “fees” and “closed loopholes”. That’s a pretty thin dodge.

So beyond that what has Romney done that so conservative? Commenter “Alabaster Jones” offered up the following on Romney’s behalf.

Vetoed in state tuition for Illegals. Veto upheld. Presented article to legislature to reinstate the Death Penalty. Opted out of the regional cap and trade initiative. Vetoed after morning pill. Authorized State Troopers to inquire about resident status.

Well, let’s take a look at that list one item at a time.

Vetoed in state tuition for Illegals. Veto upheld.
Ok, fair enough.

Presented article to legislature to reinstate the Death Penalty.
And it didn’t pass. That’s like Michele Bachmann’s “leading” losing fights.

Opted out of the regional cap and trade initiative.
Not exactly. He was instrumental in setting it up and then on his last day in office he said he wouldn’t join what he started. Of course, he did set up emission caps on some MA power plants.

Vetoed after morning pill.
Ok but the veto was overridden and it was also a massive flip by Romney but fine.

Authorized State Troopers to inquire about resident status.
That federal program was created long before Romney became Governor. So he signed that agreement on Day 1 of his administration, right? Not so exactly. He signed the memo authorizing his state’s participation about 6 weeks before his term was up. Incoming Governor Deval Patrick had already said he’d rescind it. The MA program never went into effect.

So yeah, Romney vetoed two bills, one of which was overridden.

Quite the conservative record.

Vetoed in state tuition for Illegals. Veto upheld. Presented article to legislature to reinstate the Death Penalty. Opted out of the regional cap and trade initiative. Vetoed after morning pill. Authorized State Troopers to inquire about resident status.

About Drew

I blog about politics and hockey because I sort of understand those things. I'd blog about women but I'll never understand them.

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ah, yeah, vetoing the morning after pill was a flip. A flip to a more conservative position. As I asked in my comment to the previous post: Where are the flops? Where has Romney reverted to a more lefty position after flipping to the right?

    I don’t see the problem with a guy becoming more “right” over time. I did it myself. So did Ron Silver and Dennis Miller, to pick a couple examples you might have heard of. Do you hate them for it?

    I live in MA. I moved here when Romney was in his last few months in office. I paid the penalty for not having heath coverage last year. MA’s fiscal problems have a lot more to do with have an 80%+ Democrat state legislature than Romneycare. For example, we pay an average of $8000/mile for road maintenance, compared to $800/mile for NH.

    As for fees and loopholes: fees are collected on voluntary activities. You don’t have to pay them. I’d define loopholes as ways that taxes are applied [or not applied] unfairly. I’m ag’in ’em.

    I’ve come around, again, to preferring Perry, after deciding I just didn’t care which (R) got the nomination. I prefer Romney to Gingrich, though, basically because I think Gingrich’s personal baggage reveals him to be an unethical creep. And his face is too small for his head.

  1. Pingback: BREAKING: Jen Rubin Calls Mitt Romney “Decidedly Not Conservative” « DrewMusings

  2. Pingback: The 2012 GOP Presidential Field: Garbage In, Garbage Out « DrewMusings

  3. Pingback: Mitt Romney: Internet Troll « DrewMusings

Leave a Reply

